2002: Mindy Michelle Hawkins

By United States

The third year of this award saw yet another increase in applicants with Mindy Michelle Hawkins emerging as the winner. This year’s award was increased by $500 to $1500. The announcement was made at the 2002 Society of North American Goldsmiths’ conference in Denver.

‘Our goal was to acknowledge promise, innovation and individuality,’ according to Suzanne Baizerman, the Imogene Gieling Curator of Crafts and Decorative Art at the Oakland Museum of California. ‘In the course of jurying slides for this award, I was immediately struck by Hawkin’s work. It had a presence. The subjects drew me in, arousing my curiousity. Were there stories imbedded within the pieces? The various materials that were combined intrigued me. Not inconsequentially, the works were well photographed.’

Suzanne Baizerman was joined in this year’s juding by Mia McEldowney, independent curator, CERF trustee and AJF board member, along with Sandy Grotta, an interior designer and trustee of the American Crafts Museum, AJF member and craft collector.


Similar Entries
Scroll to Top